The Inn at Ocean’s Edge – Book Review

The minute she steps inside the grand Inn at Ocean’s Edge, Claire Dellamare knows something terrible happened there. She feels it in her bones. Her ensuing panic attack causes a scene, upsetting her parents. Claire attempts to quiet her nerves with a walk on the beach, to no avail. She’s at too great a distance to make out details, but she believes she witnesses a murder on a nearby cliff. When local police find no evidence of foul play, they quickly write off the “nervous” woman’s testimony as less than credible. But Luke Elwell, home on leave from the Coast Guard, has reason to believe Claire. Years ago when his mother went missing, Luke’s father suspected she’d been murdered. He died never having convinced the police to investigate. So when an employee of the grand hotel doesn’t show up for work, Luke steps in to help Claire track down the missing woman. As Claire and Luke put together the pieces of a decades-old mystery, they discover that some family secrets refuse to stay buried. And some passions are worth killing for.


I’ve always loved Colleen Coble’s books, ever since I read her Aloha Reef series close to ten years ago, and this book is probably one of my favorites. I love when there are twists and turns in books that I didn’t see coming, which doesn’t happen much anymore. Even though, I knew who the killer was fairly early on in the book, there were many twists that kept me guessing. The characters also drew me in and kept me rooting for them. The romance element was nice as well, and it didn’t take too much of the attention away from the suspense and the plot twists. I also loved that Colleen Coble included an orca into the story. I’ve loved orcas since I was young so I enjoyed reading about the orca. It’s not a huge part in the story but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

