Deceived – Book Review

For three years, Kate Marshall has been mourning the loss of her husband and four-year-old son in a boating accident. But when she spots a familiar-looking child on a mall escalator, she’s convinced it’s her son. With police skeptical of her story, she turns to private investigator Connor Sullivan for help. As the former Secret Service agent digs into the case, the boating “accident” begins to look more and more suspicious. But if Kate’s son is alive, someone is intent on keeping him hidden—and may go to lethal lengths to protect a sinister secret.


I already fell in love with most of the characters in the first two books so it was easier to get pulled into the story of Connor and Kate because I already knew Connor, although this book gives his character more depth than the other two books that focused on Cal’s and Dev’s stories. From the start I’ve enjoyed Dev and Nikki’s banter and this book didn’t disappoint me. It kept me laughing whenever Nikki and Dev were involved. Because I already had an investment in Connor’s life from the first two books, I was drawn more to his character than Kate’s but I also enjoyed Kate’s character. It just took me longer to get into her story. I also like that the bad guy was not a straight up bad guy. He came across as a very caring father.

Hannon weaves intriguing stories and characters together in this suspenseful romance. This is a romantic suspense novel, although I didn’t find it as suspenseful for most of the book as I do a lot of others in this genre. It only really became “on the edge of my seat” suspenseful towards the last few chapters. This one focused more on the romance than the suspense whereas there are those in the genre that focus more so on the suspense.

Leave a Reply

