What Follows After – Book Review

In 1962, life was simple, the world made sense, and all families were happy. And when they weren’t, everyone knew you were supposed to pretend.

With their family about to collapse, Colt Harrison and his little brother, Timmy, hatched a plan. They would run away from their Florida home, head for their aunt’s house in Savannah, Georgia, and refuse to come home until their parents got back together. But things go terribly, terribly wrong. Colt’s mother and father must come to grips with years of neglect and mistrust in order to recover their sons, their love for one another, and their broken marriage.

In this emotional story set against the backdrop of the Cuban Missile Crisis, Dan Walsh takes readers on a journey to rediscover the things that matter most in life–love, truth, and family.

– See more at: http://danwalshbooks.com/books/what-follows-after/#sthash.LRZ7Tsdl.dpuf


This book was written in a different style than I am used to and it took me a little while to fully get into it. At the beginning I thought it was going to flip back and forth between the present and the past and I was hoping it wouldn’t and thankfully it didn’t. I kind of liked how it started off as first person and ended as first person but everything in between when it was in the past it was in third person.

I thought there was more telling than showing because there wasn’t much description on facial expressions and I found there were a few point of view errors. The description wasn’t as much as I was used to but I think it just made for a faster read. There were times I would forget the majority of the book was set in the 1960s especially when it came to phoning people because I would catch myself thinking couldn’t they just use a cell phone. So I would occasionally have to remind myself it was taking place over 50 years ago.

I liked the story of a family trying to find their little boy and working through their marriage issues which started everything.

Leave a Reply

