Fears Keep Me Captive

Fears run my life. As someone who has an anxiety disorder, I have a lot of fears and I tend to let them win. They take the fun out of my life and cause me to miss things that I would otherwise enjoy.

Some of my fears include:

  • The unknown
  • Being judged
  • People not liking me
  • Being out of control
  • Not being good enough
  • Not fitting in
  • Failure
  • Ending up alone
  • Being embarrassed
  • Saying something wrong
  • Becoming depressed and not being able to get out
  • Reverting from the growth I’ve experienced in my anxiety disorder
I have other fears but those I don’t know how to put into words or I don’t know what exactly it is I fear.

As you can see from that list, I fear things that are not concrete. They are also very hard to avoid. When people are afraid of heights, they avoid heights. A lot of my fears are emotional or mental and I can’t really avoid my brain. There are times when I try to avoid my fears by trying to avoid people or any situation that may cause me to be anxious but that doesn’t always work and then my fear of ending up alone kicks in. So no matter where I go, my fears will follow.

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a blog post about LungLeavin’ Day which is a day that a couple created to smash their fears. Today I visited their website to smash my own fears and I recommend you to do the same.

Don’t be like me and let your fears run your life. Get rid of your fears.

11 comments on “Fears Keep Me Captive

  1. Depression is killing me…

  2. Reblogged this on Living with ADHD and commented:
    Follow this blogger for great content ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. jmh7676 says:

    ‘Fear keeps me captive’……. me too!

  4. ngaii says:

    Reblogged this on My ADHD Journeys and commented:
    So true!

  5. I know exactly how you feel…Anxiety Disorder is awful!
    Visit my blog…sometimes talking to people helps ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It is! Over the past years, I’ve discovered that talking does help. For me, it also helps to write down exactly what it is that I’m anxious about as well. I’ll have to check out your blog sometime.

Leave a Reply

