Being Unpopular

I have an inherent need to be different and counter-cultural without standing out too much. I don’t follow trends really. I don’t generally watch the popular shows and movies. I don’t read the popular books. I’ve constantly had people asking me if I’ve read a certain book or watched a certain show or movie and my answer is almost always “no”. I just don’t do popular.

Most of the bands/artists I listen to, 99% of people probably haven’t even heard of. I could tell you my favorite bands/artists now and I can almost guarantee that you haven’t heard of them or very few of them. (See below for a list of my current top 10.) I love discovering artists that aren’t very well-known yet I love their music.

In sports, I often find myself cheering for the underdogs and disliking players/teams because everyone else seems to like them. If you tell me to cheer for a certain team, I will most likely cheer against them and mainly just for the fact that you told me I should cheer for them.

There are things I refuse to do because they are popular. I refuse to get a pinterest account and am reluctant to get instagram. I don’t want to just follow trends. I am an individual who doesn’t want to be one of the sheep doing what everyone else does.

About two weeks, I decided to watch a show that is popular now and I actually liked it. It was different that a lot of popular shows these days. Since starting to watch it, I am now hooked on the show. However, it kind of bothers me that it’s popular. I see people wearing shirts from the show and I almost feel like I’ve abandoned part of myself.

I have always been different. I’m the only girl in a family of five and was always different from my brothers in regards to interests and hobbies and a lot of other ways as well. I was never the popular one while in school and will never be because of my inherent need to be different. Being different is something that has been ingrained in me and something that seems to be inherent in me. If I’m too much like other people, I feel like I’ve abandoned myself.

What about you? Do you follow trends or are you reluctant to follow them like me? Do you do what’s popular or go out of your way to be different?
Top 10 Favorite Bands/Artists Right Now
In no particular order
Ashes Remain
Nine Lashes
7eventh Time Down
Forthangel
Anthem Lights
Above Only
Random Hero
33Miles
Tim Be Told
We As Human
5 comments on “Being Unpopular

  1. Johnny Ojanpera says:

    You were right about the bands… I don’t watch tv or many movies. I never know what people are talking about. I have always had an issue with pop culture. It doesn’t fit me, mostly the repetition and that there is nothing about it that lasts. I’m with you on this one. 🙂

    • There is a lot of repetition and it definitely does not last. I’m glad I have people behind me. 🙂 It’s sometimes hard to be different but I find it a lot more rewarding by being myself instead of following what other people do.

  2. Noel says:

    It sounds like you are a rebel…. oppositional. I like it. I am sometimes like this, for example, I don’t watch TV as much as before, I hate it when football fans brag so much about their sport teams, and I can’t stand people making big deal out of stupid stuff (useless news about England’s new royal baby, for example). I even rebelled against having a Facebook page one time and quit it for one year. Now I reopened it but limited the number of friends to less than 40. Keep it up.

    • I’ve never thought about myself as a rebel before recently but I’m embracing it more and more. Good job on rebelling from Facebook. I think I would find it hard to limit my Facebook to only a few friends, although I have considered cutting back on a lot of them but I haven’t done it so far. I’ve had Facebook for over five years now and that was before a lot of my friends had it. It was also before I embraced my rebel nature. I feel people make the biggest stink out of the most ridiculous stuff.

Leave a Reply

