Local Attention for Writing

GE DIGITAL CAMERAIn my last post, I talked about my last couple of weeks and how many things I’ve had going on. These past few weeks have also been a little crazy as far as my writing goes.

I have been getting a lot of attention (at least from my standpoint) about my book and the fact I wrote a book. Someone I know had come into the library about a month ago and talked about the book I wrote. Prior to this, I hadn’t told the people I work with about my book. Since the head librarian found out about my book, I finally got the courage to “donate” my book to the local library.

The library bought a second copy of my book this past week to set up a “display”.

This past week, the reeve (similar to a mayor) of our Rural Municipality (similar to a county in the States) came to the library and my boss mentioned to him about me writing a book. He was very excited about it and talked about it to one of his staff. Later in the week, he came in again and took some photos of me with my book. The next day, the staff he talked to about the book, phoned me at work and I participated in my first interview.

That was yesterday. Today, they posted the article. Read the Article Here.

It feels a little weird to be getting so much attention. I’m not sure if I like it yet but I know I might get used to it. I’ve never been one to like being in the spotlight so when I don’t know what to do with the attention. Maybe I’ll get used to it, although I don’t think I will ever get completely used to it.

Leave a Reply

