Higher Standards Than God

There They Go-Go-Go!

There They Go-Go-Go! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The other day, I read a tweet that asked the question “Are your standards higher than God’s?”

This question has popped into my head a few times since reading it and every time I’ve had to answer, “Why, yes. Yes they are.”

My standards are higher than God’s.

Yes, I may sound like a heretic for saying so. But it’s true. At least for myself. I have enormously high standards for myself.

I expect myself to be perfect, while God does not. We both know I will never be perfect but I still put the pressure on myself to somehow achieve perfection.

I hold myself to standards of perfection. If I am not perfect, I am a failure. So you can imagine how often I think of myself as a failure.

He may accept me for who I am but I don’t. I have continuously been striving to hit my standards when God’s standards are a lot lower than mine.

Zoom and Bored

Zoom and Bored (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m like Wile E. Coyote while my standards are like the road runner.

I am continuously striving to reach my standards and finding various ways to try to catch them. But no matter what I do and come up with I can never seem to catch them.

When it comes to other people, my standards are lower than they are for me but they’re probably still a little higher than God’s. I often have to remind myself, people are human and they make mistakes. However, I still hold them to standards and get angry and/or disappointed when they don’t meet my standards.

You probably think I’m crazy for having higher standards than God. After all, He is the creator of the universe and I’m just one insignificant person.

I probably am crazy but no matter what I try or how hard I try, I can’t seem to knock my standards down so they are lower.

Leave a Reply

