Author Denise Hunter

On the beautiful island of Nantucket, salt and roses scent the air, waves sparkle over hidden currents, and a storm-tossed soul seeks safe harbor.

When Samantha Owen’s estranged stepfather dies, she inherits his cottage in Nantucket–a place she left years ago, never planning to return. As a single mom, Sam can’t afford to pass up on a financial windfall like ocean-front property. So she travels home to fix up the house and sell it . . . never suspecting that Landon Reed still lives two doors down. As their long-dormant romance begins to bud again, Sam must face the fact that Landon still doesn’t know why she left the island. Will the secrets she’s hidden all these years tear them apart . . . or is Landon’s love really as unconditional as he claims?

Denise Hunter weaves a heart-tugging tale of shattered trust and enduring love . . . all in a romantic seaside setting.


Here is another interview (email style) that I had the privilege to do. Denise Hunter writes mainly Christian romance and I asked her the same questions as the other interviews.

Would you recommend an aspiring author to get some kind of formal training?

Denise Hunter: Formal training really isn’t necessary. You definitely want to learn about writing, but that can be accomplished with books, conferences, workshops, and critique partners.

How often and how long would you recommend a starting author to write?

Denise Hunter: However much time the writer has. But it should be regular. I only wrote during my boys’ nap times when they were little. The important thing is to set a goal – no matter how small – and stick to it.

What do you do when you have writer’s block?

Denise Hunter: I’ve never had writers block. Sometimes I get stuck in a story and I don’t WANT to write, but I just keep at it until. I figure out what happens next.

How long does it take you to write a book?

Denise Hunter: From Chapter one until The END, 4 months. Then another month for rewrites.

How often do you publish a book?

Denise Hunter: Currently I’m publishing 1 book and 1 novella every 9 months.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

Denise Hunter: Romantic books and movies, and compelling songs.

How do/did you build your voice/brand as an author?

Denise Hunter: I just wrote the books I wanted to read and let the rest happen. I’m a die-hard romantic, so I’ve stayed in the romance genre. I like emotional, evocative reads, so that’s what I write. The voice takes time and develops as you grow and gain confidence in your writing.

How often do you edit/rewrite before you believe your manuscript is read for publishing?

Denise Hunter: I do a total of 6 drafts before my editor gets hold of it. 🙂

Do you do any of your own marketing for your books and if yes, what do what do?

Denise Hunter: Oh, yes. It’s expected these days. I’m active on Facebook and Twitter, I place Facebook ads, guest post on blogs, do my own blog, etc.

How did you know you wanted to be an author?

Denise Hunter: I wondered for years if I could write a book, but I kept putting it on the back burner. My grandpa’s death inspired me to get going, and now here I am, 20 plus books later. I never dreamed what wonderful things God had in store.

For those of you who wish to find out more about Denise Hunter or want to check out her books, you can visit her website denisehunterbooks.com.

Other Author Interviews
Irene Hannon
Robert Whitlow

3 comments on “Author Denise Hunter

  1. owen says:

    I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!

  2. […] Author Denise Hunter (angelasuzanne.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Brittany says:

    Great Interview! Denise’s advice is very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

